Skip to content

“Everyone was once a kid and had tons of dreams…”

April 2, 2013

Everyone was once a kid and had tons of dreams; dream to be an actor, dream to be a pilot or even the superman. However, do you still remember the little but passionate dream you used to have when you were 6 years old?

When life becomes a struggle and reality breathes down your neck with nowhere to breathe, all you can do is just taking all these grievances and swallow them down. Life becomes 10 insipid hours of work a day just for feeding your family; it is nothing but a torture of repetition.

I was a chief mechanical engineer of a plastic-injection machinery corporation. I used to work 12 hours a day in average just to make a slightly higher salary. One day I woke up and realized my life was fading and it freaked me out:O I will be living a life of repetition doing exactly the same thing I had been doing everyday if I don’t make a change. Where did all my dreams go? So I quit my job; took a long vacation for 6 months in search of what I really wanted to do. Being a heavy internet user, and a creative person, I found that sometimes I came up with some cooler and better ideas than the already bountiful cool things and useful tools on the web. So I figured, “ Why not do this for my job? ” Maybe I can be the next facebook! That’s the power of internet that no other else can give. Therefore I did an insightful research and analysis. I decided to follow my dreams and establish this firm.

I’ve always liked the line in the movie Forrest Gump . “ Life is like a box of chocolates; you never know what you’re gonna get. ” Instead of sitting here wondering if it is worth taking the risk, I’ve chosen to give myself a chance so that I won’t have any regrets. All it needs is just a little bit of adventurous spirit and a further step. So, if you feel the way I feel, simply join us and begin your adventure! – Ben, founder of DreamersLab

When we were a kid, our teachers would always ask us what we want to be when we grow up and write about it.  I remember I wanted to be a fire fighter when a fireman came to school to talk about his job.  He had a great humor and played with us kids, and I wanted to be just like him.  Obviously, that was quickly forgotten, and some how something happened that made me want to be an astronaut.  Who doesn’t right?  I probably saw a movie with spaceships in space with all the beautiful stars and plants that are so far and so out of reach for a kid, but not for an astronaut.  And so for the longest time I wanted to be an astronaut.  The moment I needed glasses to see the tiny words on the blackboard, my dream of becoming an astronaut was forgotten, not sure if this is true, but my mom told me that only people with perfect vision can become an astronaut.

Just a few months ago, I was stuck at a dead end job.  My managers and senior executives would say otherwise and that I was in a highly regarded program within the company.  However, I wasn’t happy.

I learned a lot, and I worked a lot for it too.  By the end, I was working non-stop – no fun, no life, no nothing – with only 4 hours of sleep on average.  I struggled, I cried, and I smiled.  It wasn’t exactly in that order, but in the end, I did smile.  The moment I was free, I could not have been happier.  It was better than my graduation, better than my first job offer, and better than a vacation (because I knew I was going on one soon).

Like Ben, I was freaking out when I knew I wasn’t happy at my previous company.  Each day was passing by.  I knew soon enough months and years would pass by, and I would feel stuck.  That was my fear – being stuck, having to settle, and knowing I wouldn’t be happy – but my biggest fear was regret.  I left the company to find my happiness.  And now, I am working with my college friends at a startup that we have founded.  I am still struggling, and I know this isn’t what I had dreamed of as a kid.  However, I enjoy the things that I do now.  Everyday is still a journey full of unknowns, but I look forward to them now.

One Comment
  1. This is a great reminder of that passion we all once carried as a child. I feel I’ve met some people along the way who have never lost this passion – and I do recall mine as well. I hope to live a little bit of this passion every day.

Leave a Reply

