Skip to content

Is love real?

March 19, 2013

There was an article post on my FB newsfeed: Why Developing Serious Relationships in Your 20s Matters. The article begins with “Are you in your twenties? Are you an entrepreneur? Have you been told by your friends, your advisors, and your professional peers that now is your time to build your own life and not worry about things like settling down and having children — especially if you’re a female entrepreneur?”

That caught my attention. I’m currently in my 20s. And yes, I just started my entrepreneur career very recently. Have I been told by my friends, advisors, peers that I should focus on my professional career instead of finding my lifelong SO? Not exactly, there has been a mix, but I had came to a decision that I want to focus on my career development first. However, to really focus on my career and nothing else, I also convinced myself that if something was meant to be, it’ll happen no matter what – true? I’m not sure, but it kept me going until now. This article is making me ponder again, despite how much I would like to avoid it.

I know I want a career that I love, and I know I only want to be with someone that I love and loves me back, equally if not more.

When I was younger, I had always wanted a serious relationship. Perhaps serious is too strong of a word, but I had fantasized that my first crush would be my first love and my SO. I fantasized of meeting him, falling romantically in love, and growing old together. I grew up watching Disney princess movies, which gave me a more than realistic “living happily ever after” kind of expectation. The truth is it never happened, and growing up and living independently in college, that fantasy was shattered quickly.

To be continued…

One Comment
  1. That’s the problem with Disney movies—portraying life as an inevitable fairy tale.

Leave a Reply

